How does a wordsmith work ?

Winter in a predominantly tropical city like Calcutta restrict outdoor activities for me. So, I thought of narrating not a very typical day in my life. A wordsmith work is more like a craftsmen and a craftsman’s life does not vary much even if you go thousands of years back. A technician needs many tools and machines, a craftsman’s tools are simple and ancient : words, chisel, brush, potter’s wheel, knife and so on.

2 years back I wrote a diary – Daily Diary of a Freelancer.

Let us see what did I do today

I translated some 700 words into Bengali in the morning. The translation was related to a medical report. Then I helped some clients getting some 6000 words worked in six languages spread in all the continents. I wrote couple of marketing letters – an assorted salad like and sent to various leads.

Wrote a short summary of a foreign language learning programme and had this sent to a DTP team for design.  One of the languages was Greek and then watched a 40 min documentary on ancient Greece in youtube  – the age of Pericles and that reminded me reading a book by HDF Kitto entitled The Greeks. It also reminded me that our Rennessiance Club meetings are little like Greek Symposium by design where one meets, eats and discusses – not about stocks and trades, vacancies and profiteering, office-woes or celebrity gossip, mobile update or facebook victories.

I prepared a dish after reading this in a blog post where the author teaches how to fry a sliced aubergine and then preparing a paste made up of yoghurt, pepper, cardamom, fenugreek and aeostifedia. It tasted great.

Finished and proofed the translation and delivered. Client, a Briton acknowledged with a terse ‘thank you’ and then wrote a blog post. Read two wikipedia entries : Themistocles and  and Sophocles – whom the documentary mentioned. I learnt from the ancient thinkers that greatness is so ephemeral that a nation can sink to rank mediocrity within a generation.

Followed up with some previous projects and alerted a client that our delivery will be delayed 24 hours due to reasons I cannot control. Client solaced me and comforted by this, I thought of watching another report on Geopolitics which tells how geography is, one sense destiny. The same report told me why Russia from Czars till today wants to expand because in the East, between the last frontier and Moscow there lies no natural barrier and only plains. The only natural obstacles are winter and fatigue of enemy troops. Both proved fatal for Napoleon and Hitler’s armies.

Then made a call to a friend who is a co-presenter in a workshop for translators on 17th January – Job, Career and minor global fame being a translator or interpreter workshop. He told me that one of his friends need some voice recording in Bengali and then called a studio owner here – a small business and they started conversing.

Checked with a friend’s friend who had access to some fine illustrators and sent an inquiry to that effect. The illustration is needed for a book I had long written but not published formally – The Calcutta Culture Glossary  and waiting for reply

As it became evening, the air became chilling and drank some tea and thought of watching another 40 mins movie. Napoleon and the defeat in Russia kept my mood sombre and Darjeeling Tea also could not lift it up. So watched The Adventure of Napoleons of Sherlock Holmes and got delighted (once again) by the great tablecloth trick by the great detective and the great actor who played the role – Jeremy Brett.

The detective in London stimulated me and I thought of again attempting a long pending translation from Bengali to English and progressed considerably. After 1000 words completed, I felt tired and feet became colder. Resigned myself to the bed and checked the mail box to see that except some harmless promotion and received, there is nothing.

I conclude : my work-life, in a general sense is exceptionally boring. I am trying to inject some steroid of excitement into it using association of ideas and through a make belief of work.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

